Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Who's Got Spirit?

Cary Announces Hometown Spirit Finalists Winner to be Announced During November Council Meeting

CARY, NC – After reviewing numerous nominations, the Town of Cary is proud to announce the finalists for this year’s Hometown Spirit Award. The Hometown Spirit Award is bestowed annually on one Cary resident who enhances the quality of life in Cary by preserving, promoting and carrying out positive and quantifiable traditional small-town community values and traits. The 2010 Hometown Spirit Award finalists are: Michael Carlton, George Dohanich, Jason Harloff, Rosalind Heiko, Ruth Merkle, Gay Purvis, Cynthia Sinkez and Kay Struffolino.

“All eight nominees actively demonstrate the core principles of the award program. They are all dedicated to enhancing Cary’s quality of life and preserving the small town atmosphere that makes our community such a great place,” said Cary Town Clerk Sue Rowland.

The Cary Town Council will host a reception in honor of all of the finalists on November 18 at 5:30 p.m. Immediately after, the 2009 award recipient, Alisa Wright Colopy, will join Mayor Harold Weinbrecht in announcing this year’s winner during the regular Town Council Meeting at 6:30 p.m.

To learn more about each finalist, visit Hometown Spirit Award at www.townofcary.org or call (919) 460-4941.

Congratulations to all the nominees! Cary is a better place thanks to you.